District Attorney Forum

On June 5, 2018, San Diego County Voters would decide who would be the next District Attorney of San Diego County.  While SDLRLA did not endorse either candidate, SDLRA knew there was a huge need to bring this information to the voters, so they could make an informed decision.


As such, Thursday, May 31, 2018, SDLRLA in partnership with the San Diego County Bar Association (SDCBA) held the 2018 District Attorney Forum at the Westin Hotel, Emerald Plaza.  The free event was attended by over 500 lawyers, law students, elected officials, judges and other members of the public.


Moderated by NBC anchor, Catherine Garcia, each candidate was allotted two minutes to provide thoughtful responses to various questions concerning criminal justice policy including bail reform, the California gang datbase, and the public school to prison pipeline, and many other topics.


The candidates ‘bring different visions to the role of the District Attorney’s Office and the Forum gave voters a clear understanding of their vision’

   ~ SDLRLA Immediate Past President, Alara Chilton.


A very special thank you to Alara Chilton for co-chairing the event, Alvin M. Gomez of GOMEZ LAW GROUP for his generous sponsorship and to NBC Anchor, Catherine Garcia for moderating this event.


Thank you to the San Diego County Bar Association (SDCBA) and the Partnering Organizations for bringing this event to fruition: Filipino American Lawyers of San Diego (FALSD), Tom Homann LGBT Law Association (THLA)South Asian Bar Association – San Diego (SABA-SD)Japanese American Bar Association (JABA)Korean American Bar Association – San Diego (KABA – SD)Earl B. Gilliam Bar AssociationJusticia Criminal Defense Association (JCDA)MANA de San DiegoSan Diego Chamber of Commerce (SDHCC), and the National Latina Business Women Association – San Diego (NLBWA – SD)


Lastly, to all the volunteers who ensured the event ran smoothly – both leading up to and the day of – Catherine Arambula, Debbie Archambeau, Julie Schwartz, Joe Dusel, Arcelia N. Magaña, Sara Rosales, George A. Rios III, Ana De Santiago, SDLRLA Past President Manuel Ramirez, SDLRLA Board Members Gabriel Urias and Guillermo Escobedo, Anna M. Romanskaya, Francisco Ramirez, Jason Williams, Selena Arellano, Anthony Juarez, Daisy Avila, Daisy Resendiz, Isaias Giron, Alonzo Martinez, Christina Flores, Jaime Ayón, Gabriel Sanchez Flores, Ryan ‘Flaco’ Rising, Cierra Robinson, and Flower Alvarez, Lilys D. McCoy, Linda Brown, and to all the other individuals not named here.


If you missed the DA Forum, go to SDLRLA’S FACEBOOK Page to view the live feed, posts, and comments.  Thank you for ROCKING-the-VOTE!!!